It has been a while coming, but spring has finally sprung in Colorado.  And I am so looking forward to the photo opportunities as everything comes back to life again.

This photo is one of the first of spring flowers I’ve been able to get.  I thought playing with aperture and manual focus would make it interesting, and I like the results.  It almost pulls the eye into the picture to focus on the sharper background.  The best part is held away, so that you engage with the image in order to see into the depths.  Most macro gives you everything up front; this effect makes you work a little for it.  I wasn’t counting on this kind of effect, but I think I will use it more in the future.

Questions? Comments? I’d love to hear your thoughts.  By the way, if you like the photo it is also up on my site through Fine Art America: http://jessica-myscofski.artistwebsites.com/.  And that discount is still in effect through April.  Please see the sidebar on this page for the code.

Hope that spring has sprung for all of you, and that you are enjoying all the lovely gifts it offers!

Leave a Reply

